Designate 2010 "The Year of Mark Twain"

Mark Twain (real name: Samuel Langhorne Clemens) lived from 1835 to 1910.  The year 2010 marks the 175th anniversary of his birth and the 100th anniversary of his death. Although it has been 100 years since he spoke out against bigotry, racism, and hypocrisy, he is still widely read and quoted daily around the world. Perhaps the most perpetually relevant American author, Twain resonates with readers because he knew human nature - its good side, its bad side. We want to honor him each and every day of 2010 and hope that the President of the United States (and leaders of nations around the world) will designate 2010 as "The Year of Mark Twain." 

We the undersigned respectfully request that the year 2010 be officially designated as "The Year of Mark Twain" to honor America's most beloved author. Thank you.

Sign Petition
Sign Petition
You have JavaScript disabled. Without it, our site might not function properly.

Privacy Policy

By signing, you accept Care2's Terms of Service.
You can unsub at any time here.

Having problems signing this? Let us know.