These States Still Allow the Dangerous Practice of Gay Conversion Therapy

  • by: Care2 Team
  • recipient: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Nort
Homosexuality is not a mental disease. It is not a choice nor is it an addiction. Yet, despite the plethora of widely respected medical organizations that have reiterated the fact for decades many parts of our society continue to treat gayness as an option that can be overcome.

That's why the dangerous practice of conversion therapy still exists. Conversion therapy also known as ex-gay or reparative therapy is the process of trying to change one's sexual orientation or gender.

While someone can undergo the practice at any age, children forced by their parents are the ones who suffer most. The practice can cause serious feelings of self-hate, depression  and even provoke suicidal thoughts or acts according to some. And yet, this type of snake oil therapy is still legal in the majority of the United States.

Currently, only twelve states plus D.C. have outlawed the practice, leaving more than 68% of the LGBTQ community vulnerable. Last month, Maryland became the latest state to ban conversion therapy. Now, we need the remaining states that allow the harmful practice to follow suit.

Please urge every state to do its part to end this hateful and bigoted industry today. Sign the petition and demand states ban conversion therapy now.
Sign Petition
Sign Petition
You have JavaScript disabled. Without it, our site might not function properly.

See our privacy policy.

By signing, you accept Care2's terms of service and agree to receive communications about our campaigns through email and other methods. You can unsub at any time here.

Having problems signing this? Let us know.