Unite to halt the rise of the far-right

The 15,000 strong violent far-right protest to 'free Tommy Robinson' on Saturday 9 June 2018 has raised major questions for all those who value our diversity.

The racist right—from hardcore Nazis, through the FLA/DFLA to 'For Britain' and UKIP—are using Robinson to re-organise. Nazi salutes and Islamophobia were at the centre of the mobilisation.

This is the first serious attempt since the collapse of the English Defence League (EDL) to develop a racist street movement and give it a political form. It is supported internationally by notorious figures including Geert Wilders from the Dutch Islamophobic right and Steve Bannon, former adviser to Donald Trump.

It is absolutely vital that all who oppose this come together in a united mass movement powerful enough to drive these new developments on the far-right back.

Donald Trump has played a major role in galvanising the racist right. We will take to the streets for the Together Against Trump demonstration coinciding with his visit on 13 July. And when Robinson's supporters take to the streets again on 14 July, we will protest against them too.

Wherever the far right's support grows so does racism and violence. Let's come together to defend our multicultural society from those who spread hatred and division.

Launch letter in the Guardian: We must come together to fight the resurgent racist right

Article: Far right reorganising for Tommy Robinson protests, say activists

13 July: Join the Together Against Trump National Demonstration when Trump Visits Britain

14 July: Join the Unity Protest against Tommy Robinson's far-right supporters in Central London

Initial signatories include:

Diane Abbott MP, Shadow Home Secretary /John McDonnell MP, Shadow Chancellor / Len McCluskey Unite the Union General Secretary /Dave Prentis, Unison General Secretary Talha Ahmed, Muslim Council of Britain Treasurer  Mohammed Kozbar, Finsbury Park Mosque Chairman / Rabbi Lee Wax / Michael Rosen, poet / Kevin Maguire, Journalist / Thurston Moore, Musician / Sabby Dhalu and Weyman Bennett, Co-Convenors, Stand Up To Racism / Ged Grebby, Show Racism the Red Card Chief Executive / Richard Burgon MP, Shadow Justice Secretary / Laura Pidcock MP, Shadow Minister for Labour / Cat Smith MP, Shadow Minister for Voter Engagement and Youth Affairs / David Lammy MP / Emma Dent Coad MP / Marsha De Cordova MP / Andrew Gwynne MP / Lord Peter Hain / Claude Moraes MEP / Julie Ward MEP  Jean Lambert MEP / Tim Roache, GMB General Secretary / Kevin Courtney Joint General Secretary NEU / Mark Serwotka, PCS General Secretary / Dave Ward, CWU General Secretary / Matt Wrack, FBU General Secretary / Mick Cash,RMT General Secretary / Ian Lawrence, NAPO General Secretary/ Steve Gillan, POA General Secretary / Manuel Cortes, TSSA General Secretary / Mick Whelan, ASLEF General Secretary / Claudia Webbe, Labour Party NEC & Islington councillor/ Rakhia Ismail, Islington Councillor / Gerry Gable,Editor/Publisher, Searchlight / Julia Bard, National Committee, Jewish Socialists' Group / Salma Yaqoob / Kate Hudson, CND General Secretary / Lindsey German, Stop the War Coalition/ Shahrar Ali, Green Party Home Affairs spokesperson / Kerry Abel, Abortion Rights Chair / Asad Rehman, War on Want Executive Director / Sam Fairbairn, People's Assembly Against Austerity / Maz Saleem, anti-racism campaigner/ Stand Up To Trump / Dr Siema Iqbal Co-founder of AVOW (Advancing Voices of Women against Islamophobia) / Phyllis Opoku-Gyimah, UK Black Pride Executive Director / Roger Huddle and Red Saunders, Rock Against Racism founders / David Rosenberg,Author / Alan Gibbons, author / Tony Kearns Deputy General Secretary (postal) CWU / Ian Hodson - BFWAU National President / Harish Patel, Unite the Union National Equalities Officer / Margaret Greer Unison National Race Equality Officer / Steve Hedley, RMT Deputy General Secretary / Jane Loftus,CWU Vice President / Denis Fernando, Rainbow Coalition

Since publication:

Dan Hett, Anti-extremism activist and co-founder of Survivors Against Terror / Simon Woolley OBE, Operation Black Vote/ Rupa Huq MP / Roger Godsiff MP / Kate Hollern MP / Geraint Davies MP / Kerry McCarthy MP / Virendra Sharma MP / Steve Pound MP / Derek Twigg MP / Julie James AM, Leader of the House of the National Assembly for Wales / Tonia Antoniazzi MP / Mike Hedges AM / Alex Mayer MEP / Lewis Herbert, leader Cambridge City Council / Myriam Kane, NUS NEC / Kevin Price, Deputy Leader Cambridge City Council / Cllr Dave Baigent, Cambridge City Council / Clare Short / Lee Barron Gen Sec TUC Mids / DR Helmy President Bham MAB / Carl ChinHistorian, journalist / Balwinder Rana, Sikhs against the EDL / David Room Gen Sec Bham NEU/NUT / Roger King NEU/NUT Nat Exec / Dr Nihal Egyptian Activists / Annette Rochester PCS NEC / Nita Sanghera UCU VP / Julian Bell Leader of Ealing Council /  Cllr Simon Blackburn, Leader of Blackpool Council / Louise Regan, NUT Ex President / Cllr Anne Stennett / Cllr Dana Carlin / Cllr Daniel Stone / Cllr Elin Weston, Cabinet Member for Children, Education and Families / Cllr Emine Ibrahim, Dep. Leader and Cabinet Member for Housing & Estate Renewal / Cllr Gideon Bull, Labour Group Chief Whip / Cllr Ishmael Osamor, Deputy Cabinet Member for Broadwater Farm Resident Engagement / Cllr Isidoros Diakides / Cllr James Chiriyankandath / Cllr Joseph Ejiofor, Leader of Tottenham Council / Cllr Khaled Moyeed, BAME Officer, Tottenham Labour Party / Cllr Kirsten Hearn, Cabinet Member for Environment / Cllr Lucia das Neves / Cllr Mahir Demir / Cllr Makbule Gunes, Deputy Cabinet Member for Women and Equalities / Cllr Matt White / Cllr Mike Hakata, Cllr Patrick Berryman, Cabinet Member for Finance / Cllr Peray Ahmet, Cabinet Member for Adults and Health / Cllr Peter Mitchell / Cllr Preston Tabois / Cllr Ruth Gordon / Cllr Sarah James / Cllr Sarah Williams / Cllr Sheila Peacock, Deputy Mayor / Cllr Yvonne Say / Cllr Zena Brabazon, Cabinet Member for Civic Services

Petition unterzeichnen
Petition unterzeichnen
Sie haben JavaScript deaktiviert. Es kann sein, dass Ihre Website ohne JavaScript nicht richtig funktioniert.


Wenn Sie hier unterzeichnen, akzeptieren Sie die Nutzungsbedingungen von Care2
Sie können Ihre E-Mail-Abonnements jederzeit verwalten.

Sie haben Probleme, dies zu unterzeichnen? Informieren Sie uns.