These States Are Taxing Student Loan Forgiveness

  • by: Care2 Team
  • recipient: North Carolina Lawmakers

One million people in North Carolina currently have an average of almost $40,000 in student loan debt -- and they just learned that they'll have to pay taxes on their forgiven student loans. North Carolina is going to force its residents to pay up to $1,000 in income tax on their forgiven student loans. Astonishingly, four more states could follow suit: Arkansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, and Wisconsin.

Sign the petition to tell the North Carolina Legislature to exempt student loans from state taxes!

Biden's new student loan forgiveness plan, which will cancel $10,000 ($20,000 for those with Pell Grants) is a drop in the bucket when it comes to how much most people owe, but people still need it. It should come as a welcome relief. Forcing people who qualify for student loan forgiveness to pay income taxes is a slap in the face to people who already need a break and thought they were finally getting one.

Ironically, North Carolina is happy to embrace corporate tax cuts. Businesses across the state received millions from the federal Paycheck Protection Program -- and conveniently, these corporations were excused from paying state taxes.

At least 13 states are not required to uphold the federal tax exemption, but some states -- like New York and Hawaii -- have already made sure their residents who qualify for the debt forgiveness won't have to pay a state tax bill. Why can't all states do this? 

Sign the petition to tell the North Carolina Legislature to exempt student loan borrowers from state taxes!

Sign Petition
Sign Petition
You have JavaScript disabled. Without it, our site might not function properly.

Privacy Policy

By signing, you accept Care2's Terms of Service.
You can unsub at any time here.

Having problems signing this? Let us know.